India on record spree in Tests following series win against England – Stats


India have matched their record for the longest unbeaten streak in Tests, with the victory over England on Monday becoming their 17th consecutive Test match without a loss. This matches their longest unbeaten streak of all time. The last time they went undefeated for 17 matches in Tests was between 1985 and 1987. However, their current streak is much more impressive considering they have won 13 matches in this period and drawn 4, while they only won 4 Tests in their streak between 1985 and 1987, drawing 12 and tying one.

Image Source : Indianexpress.comi

Their win in the fourth Test also meant India have won the series 3-0, with another Test still remaining. The series win is their fifth consecutive series win, which also matches their previous record of winning five Test series consecutively. Between 2008 and 2010, India won five Test series in a row, beating Australia England and Sri Lanka at home while winning away series in Bangladesh and New Zealand. In their current streak, India have beaten the likes of England, New Zealand, and South Africa, while winning away on foreign soil in the West Indies and Sri Lanka.

This is also just the third time ever in Test history that a team which batted first and scored 400 or more in the first innings has gone on to lose the game. England scored 400 in the first innings against India but conceded 631 in India’s first innings. The first time this happened was when Australia beat England at the Oval, way back in 1930, and the second instance was when England beat Sri Lanka in 2011.

Ravichandran Ashwin picked up six wickets in England’s second innings of the fourth Test, which was the 24th time he had taken five wickets or more in an innings in Tests. This puts him in the third position on the all-time list of Indian bowlers with most five wicket hauls, with only Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh ahead of him now. Kumble had 35 five wicket hauls, while Harbhajan has 25. Ashwin has taken 15 five-wicket hauls in just the last two years, which is the most by any bowler in two successive years. Muttiah Muralitharan held the previous record, with 14 five-wicket hauls. 

Leave A Reply